Marathon training fuel

14 Feb

A snapshot of my food based supplements for peak marathon training.

Always going for glory requires pushing myself to my upper limits of my endurance and testing my will.  In business, as well as life, pushing ourselves beyond our level of comfort is important to grow and continuously improve. For me, running is a great way to relieve stress, increase cardiovascular endurance, and its a great analogy for my life which is:

“Always move forward.”*

I am running the Austin Marathon this Sunday, February 20th.  Above are some of the supplements that I have been using to support my intense training schedule.  It is very important to note that these are merely supplements to an already healthy lifestyle. That being said, I notice a vast improvement in recovery time and increased performance. I throw just about everything I can possibly fit into an Odwalla drink, shake it to oblivion, and drink!

From left to right:

  • Accel gel: Carbohydrate replenishment for long run training to recover when glycogen stores begin to deplete.
  • Pure Synergy Superfood: Complex greens, phytonutrients**, blue-green algae, chinese herbs, etc. to speed recovery time and improve performance.  Enhances athletic endurance and recovery by better delivering oxygen to the cells.
  • Warrior Food Protein: Vanilla flavored, vegan protein composed of hemp and brown rice proteins with enzymes for better body assimilation.  I prefer vegan protein over high-uric acid forming whey which tends to be stripped of its strongest nutritional properties when it is processed and isolated. If you are able to find some quality RAW whey, let me know 🙂
  • Odwalla Superfood: Green, superfood blend again for maximum phytonutrients and greens.*
  • Maca Powder: Raw maca powder for energy and increased performance.
  • Himalyan Sea Salt: Contains all 84 trace elements found in the body and naturally creates an isotonic, sports drink when added to water.  I tend to shy away from Gatorade and other sports drinks due to the sugar overkill.

When pushing the body to its upper limits of extreme, modern nutrition and science can help improve performance, naturally.  These are just a few of the things that I personally choose to use for increased performance and recovery.  Anyone have any recommendations?  Email me and let me know, or just post in the comments.

*See my previous post on moving forward here.

**Cheers to phytonutrients, which are essentially the micro nutrients (cartenoids, flavanoids etc.) found in plants and green vegetables.  They are absolutely essential for optimal nutrition, health, and well-being.  In addition, they can help boost hemoglobin levels in the body, increasing red blood cell count, to better ensure oxygen is delivered at the cellular level.

Always going for glory!

H.E.

Twitter: @CESteinfeld

One Response to “Marathon training fuel”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running with chi* « Hellbent Entrepreneur - February 15, 2011

    […] post is a follow-up to my last post on supplementation and running as I am competing in the Austin marathon this […]

Leave a Reply

